Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 19, 2018

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President,

As members of the Bipartisan Heroin Task Force, we strongly urge you to direct the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services to renew the public health emergency declaration first declared on October 26, 2017 by Acting Secretary Eric. D. Hargan, which will expire on January 23, 2018.

In December 2017, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released their 2016 drug overdose mortality figures. The CDC reported an opioid-related mortality rate increase of 28 percent over the last year, or more than 42,000 opioid-related overdose deaths. Alarmingly, CDC reported lethal fentanyl and synthetic opioid involved in over 19,000 overdose deaths, a figure that represents a doubling over 2015 statistics.

The CDC's new data demonstrates the immediate need for a renewed and well-resourced public health emergency focused on this drug crisis. As the increasing prevalence of synthetic opioids makes clear, this crisis is rapidly evolving. The changing face of the crisis has made an already difficult situation more precarious. Our communities continue to suffer from the scourge of opioid misuse; we as a nation need to ensure all federal resources are mobilized to effectively address this crisis.

As you know, a national public health emergency declaration provides the federal government with additional tools it could use to help communities across the country grapple with this disease. While it is important for this declaration to be renewed to allow for maximum federal flexibility to combat this epidemic, cooperation with Congress to provide the necessary funding to properly support such an emergency declaration is vital. We urge you to work with Congress to advance additional funding as part of fiscal year 2018 budget negotiations as well as the inclusion of emergency supplemental funding for any continuing resolution.

We were encouraged when you delivered on your promise to declare the opioid epidemic a public health emergency and stand ready to assist you in a bipartisan effort to ensure that a renewed declaration is well-resourced and has the full support of Congress.

Sincerely,

Tom MacArthur Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

atrich Mel

Patrick Meehan Member of Congress

Ia.

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Steve Knight Member of Congress

Keith Rothfus Member of Congress

Scott Tipton Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

ULL Swce Bruce Poliquin

Member of Congress

Luke Messer

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

NO

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

M

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

1 Pott **Bill** Foster

Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

NOMO

Kyrsten Sinema Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal

Member of Congress

James P.McGovern

Member of Congress

Elizabeth Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Ryan A. Costello Member of Congress

TOCK

Barbara Constock Member of Congress

actie Weloresti

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin Member of Congress

Elise Stefanik Member of Congress

lomas J. Roo Member of Congress

11 Glenn 'GT' Thompson

Glenn 'GT' Thompson Member of Congress

Sean Duffy **W** Member of Congress

Timly

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Ted Deutch

Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

et hla

Le Si

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

on

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

m

Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Evan Jenkins Member of Congress Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

MAL Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress

Derek Kalmer Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress